Where has the time gone?!

New Zealand was absolutely breathtaking. The snow capped mountains, the deep valleys and the beautiful green rolling hills was exactly what I thought it was going to be like. The hardest part was our time crunch there, only allowed us five days to see everything. We had to pick and chose what we wanted to see. We flew into Auckland and immediately started exploring. Auckland was a big city that had the hustle and bustle of the big city. We were in Auckland only for a total of two days because we decided to go see the more scenic South Island. Here I was fortunate enough to stay  for two nights in Queenstown, a cute little mountain town. This had to be the best decision because it was absolutely perfect. Our first day in Queenstown we went to the top of the town’s gondola and saw one of the most stunning views that I have ever seen.

I wouldn’t have traded this moment for the world. Looking out and seeing these views made you feel so many different emotions. It made almost every worry disappear because you realize there is so much more to life then just the next test or when your next phone bill is due. I can only describe this moment and my time in Queenstown as perfect.

Being on the South Island we also went to visit Milford Sound, which was described as the unofficial eighth wonder of the world. I will show you pictures and you will understand why, no words will do this place justice.

 

Moving on from the South Island left us only a full day left in the North Island. We spent this day touring The Hobbiton Movie Set. I was not a fan of The Hobbit going into this tour, but coming out I wanted to watch every single one of the movies (and I did on the 15 hour plane ride back). This tour was awesome to get to see how the hobbit houses were made and what they actually looked like. It also showed what the true New Zealand landscape was like, the green rolling hills with sheep grazing amongst them.

We also went on a gloworm tour. This expedition included going deep into a cave, that was pitch black, getting into a small boat and seeing these blue glowing worms that were stuck to the tops of the caves. It was so neat to see! At one point during the tour we got so close to the ceiling that you could actually touch the gloworms. Sorry for the lack of pictures on this part, you were not allowed to take any of the caves or the worms because of the sensitive state.

Overall, New Zealand was AMAZING, I just wish I could have spent a little more time there hiking their trails.

13569943_1829284410633616_448313657_o.jpg

Summing up my trip, where to even begin…

As I look back on the past month I can’t help but think to myself how in the world the time has flown by so fast. I had the time of my life. I met new people, learned new skills, and overcame challenges and fears that I didn’t even know I had.

Looking back I feel incredibly accomplished with myself after this trip and all the experiences that I have faced. It has lead me to understand my writing style, abling me to put my own voice in writings across all platforms. I have also found ways to produce something informative that appeals to all different types of audiences, from science writing to journaling. I feel as if I have become a better writer across all platforms and I am becoming in better touch with my own writing style and thoughts that I want to convey to the larger audiences.

This trip has taught me that if things are meant to happen they will fall in place. From worrying about lost luggage to praying I don’t fall off the log that I am trying to balance on ten feet above the water, you just have to go with the situation you are given and hope for the best outcome you can get. If things don’t go your way, you can’t freak out you just have to embrace whatever is thrown at you in the most positive light you can. Doing this has taught me to be a much stronger person and I now know to look at the glass as being half full instead of half empty. Positivity is truly key to success.

Coming on this trip I was trying to find myself. Find the person I was suppose to be in this world. Talking with one of my tour guides, Tyrone, he told me it’s not who you are SUPPOSE to be it’s who you WANT to be. When he told me this a light popped on in my head. He was one hundred percent right. This journey, my life journey, is about finding things that make me happy and doing things that I enjoy. I realized it is not about who you are suppose to be it’s about the path you chose to follow, no matter how many wrong turns or mistakes you make, that gives you the experiences you need to find yourself and things that make you, YOU.

 

Although I am sad that this trip has to end, I know I am leaving with endless life lessons and tons of memorable experiences under my belt. I am now looking forward to sharing my journey with everyone.

My time Down Under has felt like a dream, like I have been up in the clouds this whole time and haven’t came down yet. But touching down here in Austin brings me back to a reality. A reality that involves jobs, internship, getting ready for school and thinking about my future. I can truly say that Australia and New Zealand have prepared me to face whatever challenges come my way with a clear mind. strong perseverance and an open heart.

13555582_1829284657300258_1591493617_o

Australia isn’t just a place… It’s a state of mind. A state of mind that I will be bringing back with me to the USA. Being Down Under will forever hold a place close to my heart. It is going to be hard to top everything that Australia and New Zealand gave me and I can say that when I said my goodbye’s to these two beautiful countries that it wasn’t a “goodbye” it was a “see ya later” because I will be back!

Heads up, I plan to make a video of my experience to sum up my trip so stay tuned!

Leave a comment